Here are eight concepts to consider to help you determine if you should start a business, along with advice about preparing for the business startup process.

Have I set goals, and do I have a plan for reaching them? Will I be able to follow my plan without breaking laws or regulations? Have I fully considered the financial implications? Is my support network in place? Do I have what it takes to make it as a business owner?

Skipping the planning phaseNot setting SMART goalsUndervaluing your products or servicesAvoiding new technologyBeing afraid of marketingNot knowing who your ideal customer isOverspendingUnderspendingDoing it all aloneNot making a commitment

PlanningSetting goalsHaving knowledge, skill, and commitmentHaving a support network

No timeNo moneyNo health benefitsNo family supportNo courage

DrivenGoal-orientedConfidentPassionateBudget-mindedSelf-reliantHumbleResilientFocusedOpen-minded

The ImproverThe AdviserThe SuperstarThe ArtistThe VisionaryThe AnalystThe FireballThe HeroThe Healer

SBA online small business trainingKutztown small business development centerCoursera business coursesMicrosoft Office TrainingMy Own Business, Inc.

The American Business Women’s AssociationBabson’s Center for Women LeadershipThe BOSS NetworkFreelanceMOM